Woodmen Vistas – New Pikes Peak Habitat for Humanity Neighborhood Information (update)

This is an update to my previous post: New Habitat for Humanity Neighborhood at N. Powers Blvd. and E. Woodmen Rd. (Colorado Springs, CO).

Today, while running a few business related errands with my youngest son, he fell asleep. So, I decided that this would be a great time to drive by the proposed Woodmen Vistas to get a visual of where this new neighborhood would actually be. Of course, it is still only one very large mound of dirt.

On my way home, I decided to call Pikes Peak Habitat for Humanity (PPHFH) and find out ALL the details surrounding this new neighborhood in NE Colorado Springs. I spoke with Aimee Liotino – Volunteer Coordinator. I told her that I was interested in learning more about the new Woodmen Vistas neighborhood and she suggested that I speak with Paul Johnson – the Executive Director for the Pikes Peak Habitat for Humanity. Since he was in a meeting, she took down my information so that he could call me back when he had some time to answer my myriad of questions. Aimee was one of the friendliest people I have spoken with over-the-phone in a long time. How refreshing. (If you are interested in volunteering for the PPHFH, she would be the one to talk to: 719-475-7800)

Within the hour I received a call from Paul Johnson. He was able to effectively and comprehensively answer all of my questions regarding the Woodmen Vistas and PPHFH in general.

READ MORE …

About Mariana

I am a Mom, Wife, Real Estate Agent Trainer and Mortgage Lender. Find me at http://www.marianawagner.com
This entry was posted in Colorado Springs Info., Colorado Springs Neighborhoods, Colorado Springs Real Estate. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Woodmen Vistas – New Pikes Peak Habitat for Humanity Neighborhood Information (update)

  1. moni says:

    What a great group Habitat for Humanity is.
    Excellent post Mariana.

  2. kristalk says:

    Habitat has given many hard working deserving people wings all over the country. I’m delighted to hear of such a large project in Colorado Springs.

    Next blog!
    kk

  3. Moni – Thank you!
    KK- I was very excited to find out about this venture. Home ownership is out of reach for some very well-deserving families … especially with our median home price hovering at $220k.

  4. Tara says:

    This really pulls at my heart strings, It is soo touching to know that there are people out there willing to help people like us that are fighting so hard in life to provide for our children and giving to our children what we never had from our paernts. You dont know what it means to some people to get this type of help. May god bless evryone of these god creasures who have this love in there heart to help us people. Thank you and god bless you all. I know God is looking down on you all and blessing you for making all these people feel the most happiest they have ever felt in there life, just from a home. you all should feel proud!!!
    I just applied and I hope I get a Home!
    love, Tara Schneider
    Hope and home

  5. Tara,
    Thank you for stopping by, and good luck with getting a home!!
    -Mariana

  6. lance says:

    I just moved in the Fairfax community and I hate the idea. I worked my ass off to get out of the ghettos only to have on built across the street….yay.

  7. Lance,
    First, thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment on my post.
    Second, the way that they have this neighborhood set up is very smart. I highly doubt it will ever become what some would call a “ghetto”.
    Third, it will have absolutely no impact on the housing market in Fairfax, as it is across Powers. Powers is too large of a thoroughfare for values to be compared. Comparable homes to Woodmen Vistas would be in Cumbre Vista and Wolf Ranch (upper $200k’s).
    Please let me know if you have questions on how different neighborhoods affect housing values: 719-570-7715

Leave a Reply

