Lock Bumping – How Safe Are You in Your Home?

In a shocking video
that I recently watched, I learned about a new technique called Lock Bumping. Crooks (and other predatory criminals) can get a special key made (called a Bump Key) that fits into so many different types of locks, that over 90% of deadbolt door locks are vulnerable to Lock Bumping. With just a couple “Bumps” from the handle of a screwdriver to the handle of the “bump key” – the door unlocks and the criminal gains access to the home.

With our home being our castle, and being the one place that we can always count on as “safe” – this is a very scary thing to learn about.

What can be done?

Well, there are always great deterrents, like:

  • Guard dogs
  • Alarms
  • Proper Lighting

But, even with my porch light, large dog and alarm system, I always feel better when I lock my doors. So now what?!?

There are only two lock manufacturers, that I have found, that are found to be safe against Lock Bumping:

MEDECO High Security Locks and SCHLAGE PRIMUS High Security Locks

I guess I will be adding “Change Locks” to the Honey-Do list…

About Mariana

I am a Mom, Wife, Real Estate Agent Trainer and Mortgage Lender. Find me at http://www.marianawagner.com
This entry was posted in Buyer Info., Colorado Springs Real Estate, Investor Info., Real Estate Consumer Info., Seller Info.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lock Bumping – How Safe Are You in Your Home?

  1. mike says:

    wow…what will the criminals think of next? check this story out for more info on lock bumping.

Leave a Reply

